Meeting Goals…

I have been trying hard to meet the goals I set for myself this week.  Not that they were too hefty, but the food tracking one is always the hardest to meet.  Mostly because of my ability to eat everything around me when I have PMS (which of course, was this week).  There is only one goal that will not be met and you will hear why….

IMG_4012

I changed up my running goals for this week.  Instead of two 3.5 mile runs and a 5 mile long run, I planned for a 2 mile (speedy run), a 4 mile (average pace) and then a 6 mile long run.  I did the 2 miles on Tuesday with Eric and was able to keep a 9:10/mile pace….that is very fast for me.  I was shocked and very happy that I was able to run that without feeling like I was going to die!  Then, I did a hilly 4 mile run with Eric on Thursday.  This was a little more tough for me.  My knee was hurting a bit and I was finding the frequent, short, steep hills a little tough.  HOWEVER, I will keep this as my 4 mile route, because I know the hills are good for me and my endurance!!  I finished this run with a 10:34/mi pace.

IMG_4008

IMG_4007

I was pretty happy by the end of the run when I saw my pace was not as slow as I was thinking it would be.  It is funny that 10:34/mi is slowish to me now, since that is actually faster than my ordinary pace as of a few weeks ago.  I am hoping to run my 6 miles at no slower than a 10:15/mi pace.  My overall goal is to be able to run my half marathon at a 10:30/mi pace…that would give great meaning to the term ‘Run Happy”

IMG_4016 

The one goal I know I won’t be meeting is my cardio day at the gym.  I did Pilates (instead of Yoga Meltdown) on Monday, running on Tuesday, The Shred and Tabata on Wednesday, and then Running Thursday.  Friday was my rest day/ family day and today (Saturday) was when I was planning on going to the gym.  Since Wednesday my knee has been feeling pretty rough.  It has been achy and tight when I try to bend it.  It wasn’t hurting while I was running, but at all other times, it was in rough shape.  I decided to take rest from cardio and do stretching today instead so I can be sure to be in ship shape for my run tomorrow. Other goals were to do a massage swap day with the Hub (he didn’t want one, but I did) which I got when my leg was hurting Thursday evening.  I think that with the heat pack, helped a lot!  Even though he was having issues with his neck and legs, he ran and massaged like a trooper!

IMG_4022

I also planned an art day with my boys.  I wanted to have some fun with them while not worrying about making a mess or keeping it controlled!  We did that by decorating Easter Eggs and paining Easter pictures today.  It was a free for all and I just tried to enjoy them being silly and having fun with their imaginations!  I attempted to get them involved in the Easter cookie decorating, but they both were truthful by basically telling me they didn’t want to decorate the cookies, they only wanted to eat the sprinkles…can’t say that I blame them!!

IMG_4046IMG_4027

IMG_4025IMG_4043

IMG_4039

So for now, I will sit on my arse, heat my knee, watch Shrek 2 with my boys and then plot the ways in which I will hide these Easter eggs!! 

I hope everyone has a wonderful Easter!!  Here’s hoping the sun is shining for the day (and for my run)!!

Leave a comment