Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza Pockets

After stalking the 100 Days of Real Food blog, I came across a recipe I figured would work well in my household!  I didn’t really follow her recipe, just her idea; however, her recipe looks good!!!!  We all love pizza, and I have never bought Pizza Pockets…seriously….NEVER!  I have never even had one before.  I am not kidding.  So since this form of pizza would be a whole ‘new’ thing for my kids, I wanted to try it!

IMG_3744

It was an exciting day for me because I was able to get a new food processor.  I know that may sound really lame and very unexciting, but I am a self-proclaimed loser, and it was an exciting moment for me.  I fangirled when I saw this processor, I am not kidding.  Ask my husband.  He was probably giving me a pathetic look, but I was too busy ‘ooh-ing and ahhh-ing’ over this thing.  Now, I am not one to go spend hundreds of dollars on appliances, so the fact that this was $119 (AND we got it for free with reward points), was even more exciting to me! 

IMG_3753

It has so many possibilities…again, probably not as versatile as others, but for me…it is perfect!  As long as I can make my own oat flour, process my dateballs, blend up my own hummus, and whip up some tofu pudding….I am more than pleased!

IMG_3752

Seeing as that was a highlight of my day, I was even happier when I realized I would get to use it to make my pizza dough.  I simply dumped 3 cups of whole wheat flour into the processer with the food blade/hook, and then added the water/yeast/oil/salt mixture.  I blended on the lowest setting for maybe 10 seconds, and it was done!  My last processor would have taken about 5 minutes, and a lot of shaking/banging around!

IMG_3738

So before I just keep showing pictures of this processor and how it works, let me actually give you the recipe!!!

Whole Wheat Pizza Pockets

1 cup warm water

2 tsp active dry yeast

1 tsp salt

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

3 cups Whole Wheat Flour

IMG_3733

Filling

Spoonful of sauce

1 Tbsp shredded Part Skim Mozzarella

Plus any other pizza topping you love, I added:

Roasted Broccoli

Grilled Bell Peppers

Pepperoni (for my husband)

IMG_3740

IMG_3742

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Pour 1 cup of warm water in a glass measuring cup.

Add 2 tsp of Active Dry yeast, and let it foam up a little.  Add salt and EVOO.  Stir if you need to. 

Add 3 cups of flour to food processor (with blade/hook), and then pour in water mixture.  Blend under a ball forms.

IMG_3735

Coat a large bowl with EVOO and place the ball of dough inside, covered for about 20 minutes.

IMG_3739

 

Flour your counter and break the dough into six pieces.

Roll one piece out, making sure it is coated with flour, so it doesn’t stick. 

Add sauce and toppings of your choice, then fold and seal.

IMG_3741

Place, sealed side down, on parchment paper covered cookie sheet. 

Poke holes in the top with a fork

Place cookie sheet on middle or low rack and cook for 12 minutes.

IMG_3743

Let them cool a few moments, and cut top or cut in half to let the steam out.

I served these with carrots and peas (2 veggies to keep with our ‘2 fruits or veggies at every meal’ goal)

IMG_3747

The ultimate test, was seeing if James would approve.  As I have mentioned, he is our picky eater! 

He dug right in and then signed “Mom, I love this.  I love you”….WIN!!!!!

IMG_3746

I took the 4 left over pockets, wrapped them in foil and will freeze them for future lunches or dinners.  I plan to make another batch just for freezing, since it would be easy to re-heat and use on a busy night!  It was pretty easy to make, and took a lot less prep than I originally thought it would.  I think I was still in excitement mode over my processor…again, because I am a loser. 

Give these bad boys a try, and let me know what you think!!!!

Leave a Reply

