Real Food Challenge!

So I stumbled upon a great blog while stalking browsing  Pinterest the other day!  It really got me thinking about how we are feeding our boys and some extra changes we could be making.  It is hard to feed young kids ‘real food’ when they are so over-exposed to sugar-filled, processed junk food on a daily basis.  That being said, I believe it is worth a try!!  There are ways to substitute packaged sweets and ways around the endless candy aisle at the grocery store. 

After reading through 100 Days of Real Food, I was shocked at the amount of recipes and tips that are provided in order to get your family on the bandwagon!  She literally makes it SO easy, that there is really no excuse not to try it out.  Her family went on a 100 day challenge where they ate nothing but ‘REAL’ food!  This is a family of four, and if you look at her, you will see that ‘REAL’ food is obviously good for the body!!  I decided to try out her ‘Mini-Pledge- Week One’

Eat 2 different fruits or veggies at every: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.  This seems like it would be so easy, but James will struggle with this one.  That is the reason this one is so appealing to me!!  I will make him a little chart that he can check off to be sure he ‘Ate a Rainbow’ each day!  He will eat fruit no problem, but veggies are always an issue.

Gavin, on the other hand, loves to eat fruits and veggies.  I owe a lot of that to the wonderful manner in which he eats at his German Kindergarten.  The foods are placed in the center of the table and the children serve themselves.  He always choses paprika (bell peppers), cucumber, tomatoes, carrots, etc.  He loves apples, berries, bananas, grapes and pretty much any other fruit he can get his hands on.  It sounds horrible, but I almost hoard my apples because he goes through them as much as I do!  If he sees me with some fruit, he follows behind in order to snag some for himself.  (Here he is eating the grapes and leaving the cheese with his beloved, Uschi)

IMG_3214

So basically, what we will be doing is this: I will offer up a fruit salad with their breakfasts, or a fruit smoothie.  Lunches will have some raw veggies (peppers, cucumbers, carrots) mixed together, snacks will have a fresh fruit along with a dairy or whole grain item, dinner will have both fruit and vegetables.  I have already gotten in the habit of placing cucumber slices at the center of the table during dinner, I will now add a few other veggies for variety.  I will make sure there is a cooked vegetable (which there always is), plus dessert (which we rarely have) will be some form of fruit.  I will begin today (Tuesday) and keep a checklist on the fridge!  I will report back next Tuesday to give an update and announce the next challenge we will try out! Here is the worksheet I am giving to my son, to start him out and aim to color in ALL squares by the end of the week as each one is eaten!!

 

Care to join this challenge?  Any picky eaters in your home? How do you get your veggies and fruits in everyday?

Leave a Reply

