Just keep swimming…(or, running) and set those goals!

The goal for Sunday was to complete a 5 mile run…the last day of week 4 for my Half Marathon Training plan.  I had a very bad sleep, I was feeling physically and mentally drained, and at 1:50am I decided I was going to skip the run until later in the day…if at all.

I woke up again at 6am, laid in bed thinking about my goals and the fact that meeting my running goal would make me feel better, then jumped out of bed and into my running gear.  Had a whole wheat sandwich thin with PB & J, watched a tutorial for taping my arches and ankles, then taped said arches and ankles, and waited.  At the last minute a Nordic Trail was decided on as the route of the day….this was a HILLY run…let me tell you, my quads were screaming.  The biggest hill was very intimidating.  I was determined to channel my stresses and fears into that hill.  I ran half way… shook my legs out, took a swig of water, and then ran the rest of the way up.  I was very proud since my partner in crime, busted her ass to make it up the hill as well!  By the time we made it back to her house, we were: hot, sweaty, tired and proud of how we pushed ourselves!

Post run glow!

I came home feeling good and feeling positive.  After some issues, those feelings were gone.  Too much time is spent on those feelings getting wiped out.  I decided it was a good time to look into some positive goal setting and day dreaming!  This is one thing I love about Lululemon…they are not just a ‘clothing store’, they really promote happiness, living your dreams, and attaining your goals through positive thought/action.

I am going to work on my goal spreadsheet, to help get myself into a mindset of things I am excited to achieve!  I get giddy and excited daydreaming about things I want to bring into fruition, and goals I want to cheer for as I complete them!  I have some in mind for 1 year and 5 year goals.  The 10 year goals are a little bit harder for me!  I actually just opened a sealed envelope from August 2007, which was my 5 year goal sheet…things were pretty different from what I planned, but there are some great things achieved that I hadn’t even thought of!  You may never know where your path will lead, but it is nice to have dreams for yourself!!

For now, I am excited to study, upgrade my yoga certification, train for my half marathon (a huge goal that is a long time coming), and enjoy the ride!

What are your 1, 5, and 10 year goals?

Leave a Reply

