Carrot Cake Protein Bars and some new workouts…

So, I am officially addicted to all of these protein bars I have been making.  I am highly considering giving Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer a (loose) try in order to really test myself with clean eating and getting this body strong again!  Although, I have a strong upper body, and legs, the rest of me could use some trimming and strengthening.  After focusing on running for so long (and nothing else), I injured myself and got a little weak in the process…

LiveFit 3-Phase Approach

My love of exercise started with weights and weight lifting, which is why I think I can build muscle so easily (all be it, manly).  The thing I want to focus on is leaning out these muscles so they are not so bulky.  At 5ft2, muscle packs a punch and can make me look like I am much ‘heavier’ than I really am. 

IMG_0275

Lean muscles would have a more complimenting effect!  I love being in the weight room, and I am pretty certain I could modify and do a lot of these at home!  I have all of the equipment and it would be nice to get into my workout room, even if I cannot run on the treadmill!  I think the strengthening will help with my overall fitness, and help with my legs once I start running again!  Besides, it is always fun to try something new…and eat be told to eat these yummy protein bars!!!

 

 

Carrot Cake Protein Bars

Ingredients:

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  2. Mix flour, whey protein, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, baking soda and salt together in a bowl.

  3. Mix egg whites, Splenda, baby food carrots and water in a bowl.

  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix together.

  5. Spray glass dish with non-stick butter spray.

  6. Pour ingredients into dish.

  7. Bake 20-30 minutes.

    Makes 16 squares, 2 squares per serving.

*TIP*  If you add some cream of tartar or xantham gum to the egg whites, it will make these more dense and the will get a lot thicker!!!!! 

I have done that for the pumpkin bars, and will do that for these next time!

 

Thoughts?  Ever try out Jamie Eason’s plans?  Like the protein bars?  What are your ‘get lean’ tips?

2 responses to “Carrot Cake Protein Bars and some new workouts…

  1. This is clearly one food partner for being fit. I love carrot cakes, mixing it with whey protein makes its a little different and added flavor for the tasty carrot cake. You mentioned Muscle Tech as your whey source, did you try other brands like this one, http://proteinpowder.mercola.com/pure-protein.html, it was recommended to me by a friend.

Leave a Reply

