My morning protein staple….

I have a very rushed morning!  Since I am running in the mornings for the time being (the only chance I have without the kids being right next to me) I am on  my treadmill by 5am, sometimes 4:50am.  I do my 3 mile run and then am in need of protein, but don’t have the time to cook up eggs (I am too busy trying to get two boys ready and out the door on my own) and I need a new blender in order to make my preferred protein shake recipe.  After seeing some variations of the following recipe, I just made up my own easy recipe and have been enjoying these everyday this week!

P1010953

Egg Muffins…not to be confused with Egg McMuffins!  It is very easy and they stay in the fridge for a few days, so all you have to do is heat them up and you are ready to go!  I have them each morning with some of my fruit salad that I also make in advance.  Then, when I get to work, I usually have my overnight oat parfait or my dark choco cereal mix up with unsweetened almond milk!  I am a creature of habit and eat these same things over and over again!

P1010942

Egg Muffins:

1.5 cups of egg beaters or egg whites

1/3 cup Diced peppers (I roast mine first for more flavor)

1 tsp chopped fresh green onion

1/2 cup chopped baby spinach

1 tomato chopped (seeds gutted out, so tomato doesn’t get soggy)

P1010945

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Throw all ingredients together in a bowl and then measure out 1/4 cup portions into your muffin tin.  I don’t use muffin liners because when you take these out of the fridge to heat them, the liners will get all wet and make the muffins soggy. 

P1010946

P1010947

P1010949

Cook for 20 minutes, take out and let cool.  Once they are cool, remove from muffin tins and put them by twos in a snack size baggie, store in the fridge and you are done!  To re-heat, take out of baggie, wrap in paper towel and microwave for 45 seconds. 

P1010955

Easy peasy and very yummy!

Leave a Reply

