Eggplant Parmesan…Yum!!!

So I found a nice fat eggplant at the store the other day and picked it up thinking I would roast it…well last night, I had other plans!  I was making some turkey pasta for the boys and I just wasn’t really in the mood for it, so I decided to whip up some eggplant parmesan!  Luckily I had all of the ingredients I needed!

P1010929

This is a pretty easy recipe, just takes a little bit of time. First the ingredients:

1 large eggplant

1 egg white

1/3 cup bread crumbs (I used Italian style)

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp Italian spices

1Tbsp Parmesan

1 can of diced tomatoes

1/2 can tomato sauce

1/2 cup part skim mozzarella shredded cheese

Whole Wheat penne (or other) pasta

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix Bread crumbs, spices, and parmesan in a bowl.  Put egg white in a separate bowl.  Cut up eggplant

P1010931

Dip eggplant into egg white and then coat with bread crumb mixture.  Place on cookie sheet.

P1010930

Bake for 20-25 minutes, flipping once.  They should be brown and crusted when you flip them.

P1010933

Cook for remaining time.  Once finished layer in the bottom of a casserole dish.  Add a little bit of mozzarella, then sauce.

P1010935

Layer with the rest of the eggplant, cheese and sauce.  Top off with sauce and any leftover mozzarella.

P1010936

P1010937

Bake for an additional 15 minutes uncovered.  The cheese should be bubbling when you remove from the oven. 

Add some whole wheat penne (or other pasta) to your plate and top with about 1/5th of the eggplant parmesan.

P1010939

P1010941

This was amazing, I loved it!!  It seemed like a guilty indulgence, but it was all healthy!  Even Eric liked it (he took it for night shift lunch), it is hard to get him to like anything with whole wheat pasta!  I plan on making this for my neighbors this weekend.  I love to cook/bake and bring them goodies, then they do it in return.  It is a win-win situation! 

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

