Some P90X, Clean Crispy Chicken Bites, and a new job!

It has been a pretty good week so far….it is only Wednesday, so I am hoping a positive attitude will make the weekend get here faster (pretty please?).  Missed the gym last night due to some stuff that popped up, but I got my arse on that treadmill, busted out 30 minutes of sweaty hill intervals, then an ab workout, and some yoga stretching!  Today I am hitting up a P90X workout (shoulders and arms), some more hill intervals (Doctor said no running for at least 2 weeks, grr) and then some hoping that Gavin will stop screaming 24/7!

 

I am adding in some P90X in order to switch things up a bit, I was on the same workouts for almost a month and that means my body was getting used to them.  I wanted to use this for a sub-in so I can get some more weights in my workouts, not for bulking- just for toning.  With these football shoulders, the last thing I need is any form of bulk going on…I am top heavy enough as it is!  I am going to do the the chest/back, legs/back (on alternating weeks), and arms/shoulders then add in some biking, treadmill (H.I.I.T training) and plyometric drills.  The goal is to buy a bike this month, I already bought a child seat for the back…now I just need the actual bike!

Bell Bicycle Child Carrier Seat in Ramstein

Other news is that I should be starting a new role as an on-line English Teacher soon…oh, how technology is taking over!  I will be able to do it for 4 hours a day and make a pretty decent amount of money in order to save towards a home and so on.  We are hoping it all goes smoothly and that our schedules will work in order to make sure I am not always teaching with Gavin on my lap (I would not actually teach with him on my lap).  So that is something exciting…I know I really don’t need much else added to my plate, but at least it is something for ‘me’ that I really enjoy doing!

So now for some eats!  I planned this whole weeks’ meals out and I used the Eat Clean Cookbook that is for family and kids.  I was able to get 4 great new recipes out of there for us to try out.  James learned a hard lesson while I was doing this- eat or go without!  I was really getting irritated with making three different meals each night, so I figured if I can eat clean- so can everyone else!  The great news….they are (for the most part)!

So far the Crispy Chicken Bites have been a favorite!  I like eating the left overs cold in a WW wrap with spinach, tomato and a tiny bit of mustard.  So here we go with the recipe:

Clean Eating Crispy Chicken Bites

P1010201 (480x640)

Ingredients:

3 Boneless Skinless Breasts

1/4c oat bran

1/4 c wheat germ

1Tb Ground Flax Seed

1/4c coarsely ground almonds

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Pinch of Garlic powder

1/2 cup low-sodium broth

1 beaten egg white

Clean Cooking Spray

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degree, line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Cut chicken breasts into nugget sized pieces, set aside
  3. Combine all dry ingredients in a large container, mix well.
  4. Combine water and egg in a separate bowl, dip each piece of chicken in this mixture, then place in the ‘coating’ mixture
  5. Make sure each piece is well coated before placing on the baking sheet, and then bake for 10-15 minutes.

P1010198 (640x480)

P1010199 (640x480)

P1010200 (480x640)

P1010201 (480x640)

Serve with some Cajun sweet potatoes, veggies, and your choice of clean dipping sauce!  These were a hit, I plan to make these often for the whole family!  Give them a try and let me know how they turn out for you!!

What new recipe have you tried out lately?  Have you changed up your exercise routines?  Any new exciting news?

3 responses to “Some P90X, Clean Crispy Chicken Bites, and a new job!

  1. I miss doing new recipes. I used to try new ones every week. I loved searching for things to try! But the last few months we’ve simplified our diets and don’t really eat recipes anymore.

  2. sara @ the foodie diaries

    I’ve tried P90X, oh my gosh it’s so hardcore, but it works!! My friend did it for almost a year now and he’s lost over 100 pounds. He looks FANTASTIC!

  3. I recently tried a new Paleo Chicken recipe! It is super easy, yummy and great as leftovers in a salad! From the Everyday Paleo book by Sarah Fragoso, called Pecan-Crusted Chicken. I posted the recipe to my blog. YUM! your food always looks so good. I haven’t been on lately to check-in with your blog. you have been a busy woman!

Leave a Reply

