The right to snacks

I have met so many people who have varying ideas about food, snacks, meals, etc.  I have always been a person who needs a morning and afternoon snack (and nap if it is possible).  I have been trying to read a lot about nutrition, food as fuel, and finding ways to eat well without the discomforts that plague my stomach.  While trying to cut out a majority of the gluten in my diet, I am also trying to stick to as clean of a daily diet as possible!  I really do believe in the principles behind this way of eating, and I have to say it really does make me feel better!

One reason I love the ‘Eat Clean Diet’ is because it promotes having 5-6 small meals a day, rather than 3 huge ones…which is exactly how I roll!  I have always eaten breakfast, always!  I could never skip it because it is my favorite meal of the day!  Pancakes, oatmeal, Raisin Bran, Kashi cereals, English muffins, toast with PB and banana…the list goes on!  It is well known in my house that I would prefer to eat breakfast items for every meal of the day, but I know I would lack certain nutrients if I did that!  I think a good breakfast is the best way to start your day…the weird thing is, no matter what I eat for breakfast, I am always hungry within 2 hours. 

DSC02800 (640x480)

P1000121 (640x480)

DSC02657 (480x640)

That is why I am always on board for a morning snack!  I have some favorites like: apples with natural peanut butter, date balls and a piece of fruit, a tortilla wrap with PB and banana, etc.  (I am weird and have certain things I eat for morning snacks and then other things that I eat for afternoon snacks…you will never see me snacking on a yogurt bowl in the morning!)

DSC02757 (480x640)

For lunches, I like to be sure I have some protein, carbs, veggies and then a piece of fruit or something else on the side..I love salads, sandwiches or wraps loaded with healthy fats, veggies and chicken, pita pizzas…oh, the list goes on!!

P1000113 (640x480)

DSC02775 (640x480)

Afternoon snacks usually consist of: a yogurt bowl, tofu pudding with banana, perhaps another protein shake, no bake choco-krispie bites

DSC02517 (640x480)

In the evening, I like to have more protein, perhaps some form of a carbohydrate, veggies, and hopefully lots of flavor!!  One of my favorite meals is a tomato pasta with homemade sauce, fish with homemade salsas, chicken parmesan (the healthy way), quinoa tacos…and more!

DSC02514 (640x480)

DSC02463

DSC01948 (640x480)

P1010088 (640x480)

Getting into my clean eating a lot more, I have noticed that by eating more natural items, less packaged stuff, more protein, and a better blend of foods, that I have been feeling better and fuller longer!  I feel better during my workouts and slowly am starting to feel the stresses ease away!  That is the thing with getting settled and slowly easing into big changes…eventually it will happen and you will just suddenly feel better!  Slow and steady wins the race!  If I can stay on track with my clean eats, my workouts and my daily routines, I think it will all be A-OK!!!  Now, to go get some more new recipes to try out and post on here!!

 

What are your favorite snacks or meals?

Leave a Reply

