Quinoa Tacos

I had posted a while back about a quinoa taco salad that I made up to eat while all of my friends were eating taco rice.  I wanted to hit up the quinoa again this week, and I also wanted tacos…so I made Quinoa Tacos with a side of homemade avocado hummus!

P1010088 (640x480)

Quinoa Tacos

0.5lb 95% Lean ground beef

1.5c cooked quinoa

1 packet of taco seasoning (or your own blend: cumin, chili powder, roasted red pepper flakes)

3/4 c water

Toppings of your choice (I chose: mozzarella, spinach, tomatoes, red peppers, cilantro and taco sauce)

 

P1010081 (640x480)

Directions:

Brown up the beef and drain any grease that is in the pan, cook the quinoa at the same time (bring to a boil and let simmer until water is gone- about 10 minutes).  Add the taco seasoning and water to the beef.

P1010082 (480x640)

Add 1.5c of quinoa to the beef and season mixture.  Stir it up and let it simmer for about 4 minutes

P1010084 (640x480)

I chose to have my tortilla on the side and I used this brand (it is the only wheat tortillas they have available here).

P1010083 (640x480)

I added all of my preferred toppings, about 1.5 Tbsp of my homemade avocado hummus, and the torn up tortilla!  I like to use a lot of toppings to increase the volume and to get as many flavors going as possible!

P1010085 (640x480)

P1010087 (640x480)

P1010086 (640x480)

There you have it, easy quinoa tacos!  Lots of flavor, very filling, very tasty and quick to prepare!  I like the last detail since I am usually cooking up three separate dinners every night…but, more on that later!

Leave a Reply

