What Works for me…

So I decided about 7 weeks ago that I was going to go off of Weight Watchers.  I felt like I was getting obsessive about points and not really making much progress.  I spent 7 weeks trying my hand at intuituve eating, adding flax/chia seeds/whole grains, and trying to just follow my gut…

During that 7 weeks my stomach problems got increasingly worse (perhaps due to over sizing the grain portions and not sizing everything else) and I gained some weight.  The weight I gained felt like it was all lingering in my belly area.  I was having a lot of discomfort and underwent a lower intestinal screening to see if they could figure out the problem.  I was drinking 12-14 glasses of water a day, running 3-4 times a week, plus doing additional workouts 2-3 days a week.  The problem was, I was feeling worse AND was gaining weight that was not muscle.

I felt like I was getting nowhere, and was feeling worse!

I honestly found it harder to gauge my hunger, I was trying too hard to get healthy grains and ‘extras’ into my meals and those may have been giving the tummy troubles.  There was too much thought, and it was backfiring.  I am a create of habit, I like order, routine and structure.  I have a hard time trying to just go with my gut in terms of meals and foods.  I like knowing what I am eating in terms of daily values for: proteins, grains, fruits, veggies, dairy, etc.  I was starting to miss the simplicity (which I had previously thought was too much work) of Weight Watchers.  I struggle with portion control and that is the main reason I think Weight Watchers works for me!  I like following the guidelines and I like tracking (since I normally log in a food journal anyways) my food and all of those daily values I just mentioned.  I like the little goal ‘stickers’ that pop up when I achieve them, I like seeing those activity points get added to my food log, most of all I like the support! This is why I re-joined weight watchers on April 8th.  I have since lost 2 pounds…and the belly is not as swollen as before!!

I am lucky to follow along with Katie and Beth (both follow AND work for WW), I find it motivating to read from other bloggers who have success with this plan.  I may struggle a bit because of my belly issues, but I am slowly starting to see them improve (even with all of this travel and jet leg) since I started back up I have noticed a big difference with my stomach through out the day.  I am still adjusting to some natural medication for my lower intestines; however, I am really feeling a lot better!!

I think it is important to go with what works for YOU!  Weight Watchers is not for everyone.  Counting in any terms (points, calories, etc.) is not for everyone.  Having weekly weigh-ins is not for everyone.  What I have figured out is that these things are for ME, and that is what is most important!  Here is to my renewed ability to enjoy eating proper portions, still have treats that I love, and eating more naturally without going overboard with the gut blockers!

What works for one will not work for all!

What works best for you when it comes to keeping accountable with your eats AND your daily nutrient needs?  Are you better at following a plan or are you better at following your gut?

11 responses to “What Works for me…

  1. Glad to see you are feeling better and finding ways to eat better and loose weight without all the frustration.

  2. I agree with you completely about “I think it is important to go with what works for YOU! Weight Watchers is not for everyone. ”

    I originally loved WW,following the plan helped me lose all my weight, but now I feel like I don’t know what will work- I am trying to do both, follow and go with my gut(eat when I’m hungry), I need to pick one or the other I think.

    • I was going back and forth with what I thought I should do and then I realized that when I follow WW, I feel more comfortable eating when I am hungry because I still know where I am at for my day and can still plan around it, rather than feeling lost by it!! 🙂

  3. Honestly, when it comes to weight loss, I don’t really know what works for me anymore. I could lose a little, but I don’t need to, so I don’t worry about it.

    If it was really starting to bother me, I think I’d simply take a snack out from my day and see where that lead me.

    • I wish I could be easy with the whole thing…no idea why is spurs a near panic attack when I think about it! Glad I can just follow the plan and enjoy the new items I try along the way 🙂

  4. I have to do a bit of both. I need to make sure im eating ENOUGH but I try to listen to my gut when it wants more 🙂 my ultimate goal is to be an intuitive eater not matter what it does to my weight! I’m sick of trying to be a certain weight, i just want to be healthy and wherever my body ends up…it ends up 🙂 !

    • Excellent attitude and way of thinking. I know that my body likes to be at a certain weight, it doesn’t move lower very easily. I think it is great to be at that weight as long as I feel good, strong and healthy…not always about the pounds, right? 🙂

  5. Definitely need to go with what works for you! I think WW is a great plan too.

  6. I’ve been going through something similar! Intuitive eating just doesn’t work for me. When I get lax about portions and calorie counting that’s when I gain!

  7. I know quite a few people that absolutely love the new WW program…. good luck!
    I don’t think it would work well for me because I get super obsessive about the numbers and such. And then, after a while, it’s like I want to automatically rebel against the system and that’s when the overeating on purpose happens. Yikes. For now, I’m just trying to be aware of what I’m eating and when I’m eating it.

  8. WW definitely is not for everyone, but I am glad that you are finding success this go-around!

Leave a Reply

