Today…a year ago today!

Today I am feeling strong, happy, optomisitic and grateful!  A year ago today I was going through 19 hours of active labor in order to welcome my miracle baby into the world.  Today I am learning to live in the now, appreciate the goals I achieve and enjoy every moment of life no matter how stressful.  A year ago today I was hit up with pitocin and let an epidural be cut off in order to achieve my goal of delivering hypno-birth style…

Me, today!

Me, a year ago today

Today I woke up early (despite only sleepling for 6 hours) in order to go to the gym for another muscle building leg circuit.  I added in some kettle ball and squat work…no stopping in between exercises OR sets!  A year ago today I was having convulsions from the pitocin in my system.  My water broke before I was even dilating, so I needed to get the uterus working.  I used the strength I gained from my daily 2-3 mile walks, yoga, and pilates in order to maintain my endurance for labor.

Today, these legs were WORKING it!

My feet were swollen sausages a year ago today! (Not complaining, actually giggling)

Today I am rocking the lower grain input in order to help my output goal, I am going to hit the beach with James (since he only has a half-day) while Eric does more out-processing, I am going to let Gavin smash some cake, and I am going to enjoy my complete family!  A year ago today I was using my persistance in order to push Gavin out in 16 minutes (flat).  I was freaking out when I couldn’t hear him cry and could only hear the doctor talking about the cord around his neck.  I was holding my gorgeous boy after 4 years of stress, loss and miscarriages…

Today I am eating as fresh as I can in order to feel great!

A year ago today, I met Gavin!

A year ago today, AND today, I am a content, happy, strong and proud Mommy of two amazing boys!

Today, my boys teach me to take time to smell the flowers 😉

How was your life a year ago today?

5 responses to “Today…a year ago today!

  1. Wow what a sweet post! You’re such a grateful mommy, you have 2 very lucky sons who love you lots !!! Good luck with the out-posting. Most of all, Happy 1st Birthday Gavin! xoxoxoxo

  2. I love seeing what a year can do. Congrads to you and your family and here is to many, many more years of smashed cake 🙂

  3. Aww I love this post, it’s so touching! Your boys are beautiful 😀

  4. Happy Birthday, Gavin! Love your sausage toes pedicure, such a cute post 🙂 A year ago today I was preppin’ for my first ever 5K.

  5. Happy B-Day Gavin – and to me too! lol! One year ago today I was in Oki waiting on my husband to get back from a long training in the Philippines, trying to balance school and being a new mommy! Wow – not much has changed for me! Shane is still away, I’m still trying to finish college BUT the baby situation has gotten was more enjoyable as she grows and explores!

Leave a Reply

