Weekend Baking Frenzy…(part one)

One thing that has always been relaxing to me is baking.  Of course, this used to mean sugary, high fat goodies!!  These days I am using all of the great resources around me to create healthy, natural and delicious treats!! 

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls!!

As I mentioned in my last post, I spent some time last week getting recipes and grocery lists together for a weekend of yummy baking!  I was still planning on making my few staples, but I also wanted to try out some new goodies.  These will come in a few separate posts so there are  not all kinds of recipes squeezed into one spot!  First on the list was “No Bake Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls“…these will be appealing to lots of people because who does not love chocolate and peanut butter….no really, who?  That is what I thought…now, let’s begin!

The ingredients

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls

Adapted from OSG’s ‘5 minute Chocolate Peanut Butter Chews’

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Enviro Kids Koala Crisp (or any puffed rice cereal)
  • 1/4 cup Kashi Go Lean
  • 1/4 cup smooth all-natural peanut butter (I used Adam’s no salt added)
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp dark chocolate chips

 Directions: Mix peanut butter, honey, chocolate chips, and vanilla extract in a microwave-safe bowl and cook on high for about 30 seconds. Stir well and mix in the cocoa powder.  Make sure all ingredients and melted and mixed well. Add the cereals to the bowl and fold into the wet mixture, be sure to get all of the cereal coated. 

All mixed and ready to be formed!

You need to get your hands a bit wet and messy in order to get these into balls.  If it seems too wet and sticky, dampen your hands before picking up the mixture. Press mixture together firmly into balls so it will hold.  Place them on a plate and put in the freezer for 10 minutes to set.  Afterwards you can either eat them all (I was very tempted) or wrap them up.  I am keeping mine in the freezer so they will stay firm!

Now, wrap 'em up and throw 'em in the freezer!

I may or may not have eaten a few of these before they made it to the freezer!!  They were delicious!  I love the mixture of peanut butter and chocolate along with a nice crunch of texture!!  You will be very glad you made these!!!!

Next up: Chocolate Honey Granola…..

Leave a Reply

