I said “Baby, it’s 3am and I must be lonely…”

Excuse me as I sing along to one of my favorites from my first time in Korea (2001).  A classic MatchBox 20 song….however, not so classic when it is ringing true to me!  I have been waking up earlier and earlier, for no reason and today was the worst yet.  I tossed and turned a while before even allowing myself to look at the clock, when I finally gave in the number 3:26am were flashing at me…”You have got to be kidding me!”  Another long day for this mama!

Yummy pancakes with Nutella, PB and banana, plus a delicious omelet

Luckily I prepared my pancakes and the toppings for my Egg Beaters omelet last night, so it was all ready to go for me.  I even had my clothes laid out, the  clothes for the Youngin’ laid out and things placed strategically around the house so I could grab them as I moved through my familiar morning routine.  (I actually do all of the ‘laid out clothes’, ‘pre-placed items’, and OCD prep every night, not just last night).  I also had my bento already packed from last night.  For those who are unfamiliar, a bento is a style of presenting lunch or dinner in Japan.  The food is given in smaller portions, divided and there is always a lot of time and thought put into them! Click on bento to learn more about it!!  Here is mine that my Hub got me for Christmas!

Sukiyaki w/ asparagus, toasted pita w/ hummus, yogurt, and fruit

They all pile on top of one another and fit in here!

They all pile on top of one another and fit in here!

It goes in a carrying case that comes with a spork and has pockets on the front to hold other items.  It keeps things BOTH hot and cold.  This thing is amazing!!!  I will do a whole other posts just on Bentos since I make some cute ones for my son as well!

So here I am awake super early, I eat my delicious breakfast, get out the door and cannot escape the massive headache that is making my eyes want to pop out.  My yummy lunch and snacks got me through the day, but here I sit ready to crawl into bed (I am literally about to go crawl into bed and pray the Youngin’ stays asleep).  I wanted comfort food….that means cereal and chocolate.  What I have learned is that I can have those things in moderation, so no need to fret!  I started off with a nice salad of lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, shredded salad mix from the Japanese grocery store I stopped at and then some Fat Free Thousand Island dressing.

Salad with FF Thousand Island Dressing

Then I made a nice mix of 1/3c Total Raisin Bran (yes, I am addicted to this stuff), 1/3c Total Bran Flakes, 1/3c Kashi Go Lean, 1 tsp of additional raisins, 1/2 banana and 2/3c skim milk.  So satisfying and delicious!!

Comfort in a bowl!

Now, I am very greedy…but, I decided to share a few nibbled of the Kashi with the Youngin’….he loved it!

More, please!!

I have the comfort cereal craving completed now for the chocolate!  I decided to go for the “No Pudge Brownie Mix”.  I took 2Tbsp and mixed it with 2Tbsp water, and 2 Tbsp heated cherries.  I topped it off with 1/4 cup of FF Breyers Chocolate Ice cream and 1/2tsp of coconut!  It was so yummy for 4pts+

A closer look!

Mmmmmmmm!

So delicious!!!!

The last and final thing I needed was love from my babies!!!  The Hub would not let me take his picture because he was in uniform and on his way out the door (boo, 12 hour night shifts).  But, I got some love…

Kisses for the Youngin'

Me and James!

Even some love for my first baby, Meiko!

Lots of lovin’, got my comfort food (and am still 6 points under for the day), now I have my cozy jammies on and it is time to hit the hay!! 

Oh, and just incase you were wondering….I have the bento packed and my stuff all laid out in their respective places 😉

Leave a Reply

